Journeys School

Learn. Think. Act.


Journeys School uses a variety of methods to assess student learning, from traditional tests and reports to presentations, portfolios, projects, homework and discussions. Some of those methods are:


The portfolio at Journeys School is a collection of student work that demonstrates what a student has learned during the year. Portfolios include completed work from different disciplines that demonstrate competency and improvement.

Standardized Tests

All students in grades 3-8 take the Comprehensive Testing Program IV (CTPIV) test administered through the Educational Records Bureau. Students in grades 9-11 take the Pre-Scholastic Aptitude Test (PSAT). Students in grades 11-12 take the SAT and ACT exams depending on the requirements of their college selections. Standardized test scores for individuals are tracked from year to year to assist in diagnostic purposes and curricular planning.

Learning Team Meetings

Every grade level conducts learning team meetings, which consists of the student, his/her advisor and the parents. The team discusses the student’s progress both socially and academically.


Students at all levels of the school receive regular written reports with anecdotal notes about the student’s performance. Middle and high school students also receive grades according to the framework detailed below.

In middle and high school, student work is evaluated using three categories:

  • Content: Acquisition, application and demonstration of knowledge in core and integrated content areas
  • Process: Group and individual participation, timeliness, initiative, wise use of resources, attitude and leadership, ability to follow direction
  • Product: Organization, legibility, and completeness of assignment

A numeric system is used to evaluate the quality of achievement in each of these three categories as follows:

4: Exceptional - Indicates mastery, shows a depth of understanding/achievement not normally seen

3: Proficient - Working above expectations, thorough competency

2: Acceptable - Meets minimum requirements for satisfactory learning

1: Basic - Shows little or none of the required elements

web solutions : redtopia