Murie Ranch

Live Event: SOLD OUT

Livestream Free on
September 19th @ 7:00 pm MST: Click Here 

Famed ethologist and global conservation icon Dr. Jane Goodall will be recognized with the 12th Murie Spirit of Conservation Award by Teton Science Schools. Juan Martinez-Pineda will be honored with the 2022 Rising Leader Award. Join us for an evening celebrating conservation and the Murie Legacy with the opportunity to hear from one of the world’s premier conservationists.

The Murie Spirit of Conservation Awards

The Murie Spirit of Conservation Awards is a celebration of conservation leadership. The Murie Ranch of Teton Science Schools honors individuals who have demonstrated an exemplary commitment to the protection of wildlife and wild places. Each year, Teton Science Schools selects recipients for The Murie Spirit of Conservation Award and the Murie Spirit of Conservation Rising Leader Award. The Spirit of Conservation Award is awarded to a person whose life work demonstrates a commitment to conservation, civility and community. The Rising Leader Award is given to outstanding young professionals in the field of conservation.


Dr. Jane GoodallDr. Jane Goodall

Dr. Jane Goodall, DBE, Founder of the Jane Goodall Institute (JGI) and UN Messenger of Peace,
is a world-renowned ethologist and activist inspiring greater understanding and action on behalf
of the natural world.


Dr. Goodall is known for groundbreaking studies of wild chimpanzees in Gombe Stream
National Park, Tanzania, which forever changed our understanding of our relationship to the
rest of the animal kingdom. This transformative research continues today as the longest running
wild chimpanzee study in the world. Jane’s work builds on scientific innovations, growing a
lifetime of advocacy including trailblazing efforts through her international organization the Jane
Goodall Institute which advances community-led conservation, animal welfare, science, and
youth empowerment through JGI’s Roots & Shoots program.


Today, Jane continues to connect with worldwide audiences, despite the challenges of the
pandemic, through ‘Virtual Jane’ including remote lectures, recordings, and her podcast, the
“Jane Goodall Hopecast.” In 2021, Jane was the recipient of the Templeton Prize, and her newest
book, “The Book of Hope: A Survival Guide for Trying Times,” was published.


Jane is a global icon spreading hope and turning it into meaningful positive impact to create a
better world for people, other animals, and the planet we share.



Juan Martinez

Juan Martinez-Pineda

Juan D. Martinez-Pineda is the Senior Manager at The Aspen Institute’s Forum for Community Solutions.


He is the founder of Fresh Tracks, a community-led cross cultural revolution, rooted in the healing power of the outdoors. His work has helped to grow the silo-breaking strategy for systems change and youth power building while also lifting up successful stories of civic engagement and community organizing. Prior to Fresh Tracks, he served as Vice President at the Children & Nature Network and co-founded the Natural Leaders Network


Juan was named a National Geographic Explorer in 2011 and a member of the inaugural class of The Explorers Club 50 in 2021, for his work to engage the rising generation of youth to the healing power of the outdoors and culture. 


Juan is a proud product of South Central Los Angeles. A descendant of the Tehuano community of the Zapoteca people from Oaxaca, MX. He is a TED Speaker, community organizer, author, and is dedicated to bringing the power of equity and justice to life through youth and community-driven solutions. Juan has committed to help empower the next generation of leaders dedicated to addressing systems of inequity and access to opportunities by working with community leaders, non-profits, and businesses across the country. Juan resides in Blanco, Texas, with his wife, Vanessa and newborn son, Alexandro. 

Highlights of The Murie Legacy

Previous awardees have included:

  • Rose Marcario, Board Member, Advisor, and Former CEO of Patagonia, Inc.
  • Robert Stanton, first African American to be appointed as Director of the National Park Service, serving from 1997-2001.
  • Jimmy Chin, Academy Award-winning filmmaker, National Geographic photographer and mountain sports athlete.
  • Bert Raynes, local conservation and wildlife advocate.
  • Sally Jewell, Former US Secretary of the Interior under the Obama Administration.
  • Harrison Ford, Actor and Vice-Chair of Conservation International, a global nonprofit dedicated to building a healthier, more prosperous and more productive planet.
  • John Turner, a Jackson Hole native, conservationist and devotee of Olaus and Mardy Murie. Notably, former President of the Wyoming State Senate, Director of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, and U.S. Assistant Secretary of State for Oceans and International Environmental and Scientific Affairs.
  • Luther Propst, Founder of The Sonoran Institute, conservation leader in policy and projects focused on core issues (sustainable water, land use, community development) that define how the West is growing and changing.
  • Gretchen Long, founding board member of The Murie Center of Teton Science Schools, current board member of The National Park Advisory Board (among many others, former and current), and committed advocate for conserving America’s treasured parks and wilderness areas.
  • Dr. George Schaller and Dr. Robert Krear, esteemed field biologists and global conservationists who traveled with the Muries on their 1956 Sheenjek Expedition that set in motion the effort to protect what is now the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge.
  • Addie Donnan, community leader in Jackson Hole and founding chair of The Murie Center and Teton Science Schools emeritus board member.


Keynote speakers and guest presenters have included former President of The Wilderness Society Bill Meadows; The Honorable Margaret M. McKeown, a federal judge on the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit; and renowned conservationist Jane Goodall, who contributed a video introduction to our first awards dinner in 2011.

View the 2021 Murie Spirit of Conservation Awards